Supare Akoko/Farmers Crisis: Adeogun led committee Presents Report, Recommendations

The committee on the Supare Akoko/Farmers Crisis in Akoko southwest local government area of Ondo state has submitted it’s Report to the state government.

Led by the member Representing Akoko Southeast/Southwest Federal constituency in the House of Representatives, Honourable Ade Adeogun, the committee was Inaugurated on the 19th of April, after a crisis, which resulted in the loss of Properties and varying degrees of Injury on the warring blocs.

Hon. Adeogun, while presenting the report to governor Rotimi Akeredolu said it contains the it’s findings and recommendations, in line with the terms of reference given to the committee at its inauguration three weeks ago.

Speaking while receiving the report of the committee, Governor Akeredolu noted with satisfaction, the efforts of the committee to achieve amicable resolution of all contending issues which led to the crisis.

The governor said he was particularly happy that the committee was able to get the warring factions to reach a compromise to the extent that they were able to sign a Memorandum of Understanding, MoU.

“Initially, I thought it was going to be intractable. But from what I can see, you were able to reach compromise among the warring factions (Supare people and the farmers). That they can come to terms and agree to sign Memorandum of Understanding, MoU, is a wonderful thing,” he said.

Governor Akeredolu described as a reference point the genuine reconciliation facilitated by the committee which enabled the farmers to recognise the rights of owners of the land and equally agreed to go about their farming activities within stipulated guidelines contained in the signed MoU.

The governor assured that the recommendations of the committee would be looked into before the final decision of the state government.

He, however, stated that the template for the peaceful resolution of the dispute used by the committee will be encouraged in any similar situation in the state.

Adeogun appreciated the governor for the privilege given to the members to serve in the committee.

Membership of the committee includes:

i. Hon. Ade Adeogun (Akoko S/W) – Chairman
ii. His Excellency, Alhaji Ali Olanusi (Supare Akoko) – Member
iii. Hon. Kolawole Babatunde (Akoko S/E) – Member
iv. RT. Hon. Victor Olabimtan (Supare Akoko) Member
v. Rtd. Gen. J.O. Olorunfemi (Supare Akoko) – Member
vi. Hon. Gbenga Omole (Oka Akoko) – Member
vii. Alhaji Jimoh Dojumo (SSA Security) – Member
viii. Mr. Felix Alonge (Oka Akoko) – Member
ix. Mr. Clement Dara (Oka Akoko) – Member
x. Mr. S. A. Adigun (Surveyor General) – Secretary

Kindly Share This: