Ondo 9th Assembly Elects Speaker, Deputy Speaker

The Ondo state house of assembly has reelected Rt. Honourable Bamidele Oleyeloogun as the Speaker of the 9th assembly at her inaugural parliamentary session presently holding in the Assembly complex in the state Capital, Nigerian Cable News online can report.

Oleyelogun, who represents the Ifedore state constituency was nominated by Hon. Towase Kuti representing Akoko south east state constituency and seconded by Hon. Wale Williams representing Ondo west state constituency 2.

Oleyelogun was declared the speaker of the 9th assembly unopposed, in the absence of further nominations.

Earlier, the majority leader of the 8th Assembly, Hon. Joseph Araoyinbo had moved a motion for the dissolution of the 8th Assembly, seconded by the deputy speaker of the 8th assembly, Rt. Hon. Ogundeji Iroju.

Ogundeji Iroju representing Odigbo state constituency 1 was also reelected the deputy speaker of the 9th assembly unopposed.

Iroju, who was nominated by Hon. Felemu gudu, representing Akoko south west constituency 2 and seconded by Hon. Success, was a former deputy speaker of the 8th Assembly.

While giving his acceptance speech, Oleyelogun thanked his colleagues and leaders of the APC in the state for trusting him with the mandate to serve as speaker of the 9th Assembly.

He said:

“I am ready to serve you and grateful for this opportunity to serve the people of Ondo state. Your cooperation is very paramount to get to the promise land.”

The speaker and deputy speaker were sworn in by the clerk of the house while other members of the 9th Assembly were thereafter sworn in by the speaker.

Kindly Share This:

One thought on “Ondo 9th Assembly Elects Speaker, Deputy Speaker

  • June 3, 2019 at 4:37 pm

    Thank God for honorable Bamidele Oleyeloogun. Please sir, we want you to use your good office to serve the citizens of our beloved state (ONDO) according to your statement. Thanks

Comments are closed.